I <3 Khachapuri

I’m having a hard time telling the difference between the place I arrived to and the place where I am now.

The hallways of the Main Press Centre were empty. Security lines were at a minimum. I kind of felt some ownership and entitlement to the Main Press Centre. I knew things would change, though. The media is arriving, the MPC is bustling with journos and photogs, and the Games are days away. Days away.

One advantage to everyone being here though, has been that McDonalds has increased their hours from noon to six p.m. to a much more convenient six a.m. to one a.m. I’ve had a breakfast there, which tasted just as good as home, and have engulfed the first two Big Macs of my life. Can someone please tell me if there is a possible way to eat those things in a tidy manner?

When I was in Sochi last year, my biggest concern was the food. That really hasn’t been the case this year. Dare I say that Russian food is growing on me? Our lunch meals consist of either a rice or pasta, some kind of meat (fish is always an option, but thankfully there’s usually others), and some kind of salad. I think I’m actually eating better than I am back at home where I would usually consider Kraft Dinner with sliced hot dogs as a meal.

And there’s this:

Khachapuri - the godsend of foods.

Khachapuri – the godsend of foods. Photo from Google Images. Taking a picture of this when it reaches the table is the last thing on my mind.

Khachapuri. It’s a Georgian food. I just learned I’m walking distance from the Russia/Georgia border today, and if khachapuri were to be banned in Russia, I would risk climbing the guarded fence into Georgia to search for this. I’ve yet to meet someone here who has said they don’t like this cheesy, salty, and delectable treat. It’s a cheese filled bread that has a crust similar to a stuffed crust pizza, but filled with even more gooey goodness.

I spent what will be my last day off before the Games begin catching up on some laundry and taking a nice long walk by the Black Sea. It’s located right by the hotel, and the boardwalk extends all the way to Olympic Park. With the right music coming from my iPhone, it’s an incredibly soothing trip.

Many familiar faces are rolling in to Sochi and it’s getting me pretty excited to work with them again, and start working with the wonderful crew that I’ve been assigned to. We have some volunteer workers coming in the next few days and I’m looking forward to meeting them before the curling competitions start. I haven’t been this excited to work an event before.

That will begin on the eighth when the curlers start their training sessions.

Here’s a few pictures:

From my walk down the boardwalk.

From my stroll down the boardwalk.

A closer look at the very interesting uniforms we are wearing. We've been kitted with items like a: jacket, pants, shirts, gloves, hat, toque, shoes, fanny pack, and poncho.

A closer look at the very interesting uniforms we are wearing. We’ve been kitted with items like a: jacket, pants, shirts, hoodie, gloves, hat, toque, shoes, fanny pack, and poncho. Model not included.

Leave a Reply

