Greetings from Sochi

Welcome to the newly branded Second Shot Blog. Although I don’t know how much of a rebrand a new header photo and blog title is.

Regardless, I felt like it was time for a bit of a change on the blog to reflect what’s been going on in my life lately. I seemed to be blogging and thinking mostly about curling these days, so it only seemed appropriate to give the blog a curling themed title.

That’s right, the name “Second Shot” refers to curling. Not the amount of vodka shots I plan to take while in Russia (it really is almost as cheap as water).

The flight over here was long and uneventful, but that’s better than last year’s journey of spending the night at the Moscow airport. I was worried I was in for the same fate as passport control was crowded again. But the organizing committee has done a great job with helping their people get here comfortably.

Speaking of comfortable, the hotel room is just that. It’s small and reminds me of a university dorm room. But it’s very cozy and will get the job done for the next few months.

I’m in shock and awe to be here once again. The place that I remember from last year is no more. It’s filled with pavement, new buildings, an Olympic torch ready to be set in the coming weeks, and a general buzz of excitement and preparation that is too hard to ignore in the weeks leading up to the Games.

I’m working with an absolutely amazing team in the curling venue and I’m looking forward to getting to know them more. It’s very exciting, and refreshing to be surrounded by so many people who are ambitious and excited to report on the Games.

For those who might not know, my job here at the Olympics is as a curling reporter. There are four other reporters on our curling team, in addition to a lead writer, and a supervisor. We’ve spent the past few days in all sorts of training and brainstorming sessions, learning about the content management systems we use, and creating story ideas specific for curling before the Games start.

Once the games start I’ll be working with the reporters and some volunteers to find the “Golden Quotes” in the mixed zone and send them through the ONS news wire for the rest of the media to use. We are incredibly privileged to be among the first people to speak with the athletes after they leave the field of play.

Despite the name “Sochi 2014”, the nearest town to the Olympic Park is actually a town called Adler. The only association Sochi has with these games is that it will be the airport the fans, competitors and media will fly in to. That’s also where I was located last year.

I would love to show you some pictures but unfortunately I’ve been having some issues uploading photos. I imagine that will improve in the coming days *knock on wood*.  (Edit: some photos have been uploaded below)

But please feel free to browse through the select few I’ve put on my Instagram and Twitter feeds, which you can view on the right hand side of this page.

I’ll be uploading some more photos in the coming days. Including one of an amazing keepsake that I found early on in this trip that every Canadian hockey fan will love.

The Ice Cube (curling venue) is a receiving a bit of a facelift for Sochi 2014.

The Ice Cube (curling venue) is a receiving a bit of a facelift for Sochi 2014.

My little dorm room for the next two months. It's cozy.

My little dorm room for the next two months. It’s cozy.

One response to “Greetings from Sochi

Leave a Reply

