Full circle

It’s quite odd to see things go full circle.

When I was in my final year of college I had a few basic ideas of what I wanted to do with my career, but certainly nothing concrete. I wanted to get a basic starting job at either a newspaper, radio station, or television station. I would work my way up the career ladder and eventually become successful.

Now, I find myself doing something I never expected. At this point, I’m a freelance journalist, living from pay cheque to pay cheque and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

It all started when I was selected as the World Curling Federation’s trainee journalist. In February 2013 I found myself in Sochi, Russia covering the 2013 World Junior Curling Championships. Even to this day, I can’t put enough emphasis on how much this program has helped jump start my career. I’ll forever be grateful for this opportunity.

The best view in the rink.

The best view in the rink.

I met some incredible people, some smart and talented writers, and multiple people who I now consider mentors.

The hours were long and, quite honestly, sometimes over bearing. But it really was all worth it. I’ll never forget traveling halfway across the world to work at an Olympic venue and interviewing and writing about all of the talented junior curlers.

I had never considered working at a curling organization as a career until that point. But now that’s something I strive for. When I was in Sochi I worked hard and always put my entire effort into 10 or so days I was there.

Enjoying the view of the Black Sea

Enjoying the view of the Black Sea

I suppose some of the hard work paid off because the World Curling Federation asked me to take on a similar role in Fredericton, New Brunswick for the 2013 World Seniors and World Mixed Doubles Curling Championships.

However, opportunities did not stop at that point. Since then, every event I’ve worked at has opened up some kind of new door for me. That’s incredibly exciting, especially in an Olympic year.

The WJCC media crew

The WJCC media crew

I will be working at the Olympic qualifying events for Canada and the USA. I’m really excited to watch the paths of these curlers. The best part about it is I’ll be able to follow them…literally…to Sochi and report on them attempting to achieve Olympic gold.

Earlier this week I received word that I will be working as a curling reporter at the Olympic Games in Sochi. I will be spending two months there, helping with preparation and the coverage of the Olympic and Paralympic games.

Hard work has paid off, and now I will be back at the beginning in a way. This Olympic opportunity would have never been possible if it were not for the World Curling Federation’s trainee journalist progamme.

I’m somewhat jealous, and excited for the people who have applied and will receive the opportunity to work with the World Curling Federation this year. The recipients will get to travel the world, meet some incredible people, make new lifetime friends and so much more.

If you’ve applied, good on you! If you haven’t yet, I strongly encourage you do. I’ve learned so many lessons because of that trip in both my professional and personal lives.

Even if you’re not a curler or know a lot about the sport, apply! Yes, while having knowledge of the sport can be important, that type of stuff can be taught. Sometimes you can’t teach someone how to be a good writer, it has to come naturally. You could very well be that talented writer who might just have to brush up on your curling knowledge during your plane ride to the event.

The worst that can happen is you won’t receive the internship. The best? Well, this opportunity can really put your foot in the door and send you on a journey you never imagined taking.

That’s what it has done for me at least. And I’m really excited to go back to the place where it all started.

Leave a Reply

