Building the foundation of your career

It’s been about one week since I’ve returned from Russia and many of the memories (and jet lag for that matter) are still in my head.

The trip back has taken a lot out of me and has left me really tired most nights. I always expected I’d fall asleep and miss my alarms and miss the IPP presentations and fail CreComm because I missed them. But for every single morning this week, I’ve woken up at 4:30 in the morning and never got nearly enough sleep to catch up with where I should be.

On Saturday morning I woke up at 4:30 a.m. I was scared because I thought it was 4:30 in the afternoon, I had slept through my alarms and that I was (for some reason) still in Russia and that I had to get to the arena. Then I realized it was the morning, and  I couldn’t fall back asleep.

But I’d like to talk one last time about Russia (before I start to sound like a broken record).

It gave me this incredible look into what that industry is all about, and now that I’ve had a taste for it, I want more. I loved the long days, I loved the people I was with, I loved being around curling, I loved that I was in a future Olympic venue. I learned so much from all of the people around me and I can’t thank them enough for the time and effort they put into helping me out and giving me this experience.

At the IPP presentations, many people said to find your passion and go for it in order to create a project that will be successful. It’s great advice and it’s very true. But I didn’t want to go up there and say it again, I felt like it was said so many times.

I might not have known it at the time. But my IPP really helped build the foundation of what will be the rest of my career. I had never really thought of it that way until I returned to Russia though. I never expected that my work with the MJCT would translate into this opportunity with the World Curling Federation.

Thankfully, it did. It helped me realize how critical and important these IPPs are. They’re the perfect way to help you get that great start for your career. You’ll be able to meet contacts, practice in that field and have a great resume piece.

I’ve been very lucky and have been asked back by the World Curling Federation. I’ll be covering the World Seniors and World Mixed Doubles Curling Championships in just under one month’s time in Fredericton. Definitely not as far away, and I’m fine with that. However, I haven’t been to the east coast before and it’s always been on my to-see list. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

