And off to Russia (follow my Russia blog in link below)

In just under 20 hours I’ll be embarking on what I easily consider the most nerve-wracking, exciting and biggest opportunity of my life.

I’ll be heading off to Sochi, Russia to join the team of 13 media people covering the 2013 World Junior Curling Championships.

To say I’m excited would be an understatement. But I haven’t felt that yet. I will once I’m at the airport tomorrow. But right now, I’m kind of taken over by a bit of fear and anxiousness.

Since I found out I was going to be heading to Russia (back in early January) I haven’t really had a lot of time to think about it. School has kept me more than busy and that was always the main focus. But now it’s tomorrow. And while there’s still a few things left to do for school, it’s finally hit me: I’m heading out tomorrow.

I’m counting my lucky stars right now. I’m going to be out there covering my favourite sport and doing something that I would, ideally, love to do for the rest of my life. I know I have the skill and the drive to do a good job. School has prepared me for that. But I still have this sense, fear if you will, that something will go wrong.

I have a hard time believing something until I see it. So once that plane lands in Sochi, and I find myself in the Ice Cube Curling Centre, I’ll finally realize what’s happening. I might need someone to pinch me though.

This is all likely a bunch of blabbering, because I’m having a very hard time trying to put into words what I’m feeling right now. I think to sum this up: I’m nervous, I’m anxious, I’m excited. But once I’m there, it will all settle in and I know I’m in for an amazing learning experience and I’m thrilled and very lucky to be where I am right now.

If you’re interested in keeping up with my trip, you’ll be able to in a few different ways.

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram: @kylejahns

Follow my World Junior Championship blog: www.mjct.ca/news/blog

Listen to CJOB. If all goes to plan (aka I work out an international calling card), there should be some updates there!

Thank you all!

Leave a Reply

