The Law Courts

Today our class went to see what the Law Courts were like. I was a little intimidated going into the assignment today because I didn’t know what to expect.

Crime and punishment has always been an interest of mine. It’s kind of ironic because growing up as a small little boy in the country I was terrified of going into the city because of all of the “robbers” and “bad guys.” Little did I know that some 12 years later I would be living in Winnipeg on my own, and usually right in the heart of downtown.

I grew up in high school reading Mike McIntyre’s true crime books. I was fascinated by the real stories told in the books. I couldn’t believe that these stories not only happened to people, but people right in this province. Crime was this sick interest of mine. While I didn’t like that people were victims of crime, I was mesmerized by why it happened, what the process was, and how people are punished. Mike’s books do an excellent job of detailing every step of the process along the way.

Today was my first time in the Law Courts. I heard it was going to be a maze. That it will be confusing. That it will be a lot to take in. But truthfully, I really enjoyed the experience. Seeing Mike again today reminded me of his books and how pretty much all of the tails told in his books all revolve around the Law Courts. The archives that he went through held a wealth of information for him, and the very people who he wrote about in those books have set foot in that building.

I covered a fraud case today. While I’m sure it’s not going to be a huge story in the media, I was very much into the process of it. I enjoyed watching the witnesses come in and testify. Watching the crown attorney and defense interact with each other and seeing the process unfold before my eyes.

In all honesty, I kind of wish they got to the verdict of the case today because I was really interested in seeing how it turned out. But I have a feeling that it won’t be the last time I’m at the law courts. Mostly because I am going next week again for school, but also because I really enjoyed it there and I know that I wouldn’t hesitate to pick up a law court story from my editor once I’m in the field.

Leave a Reply

