Work Placement follow-up

It feels like it’s been a long time since I’ve made a blog post, but I also feel like time has gone by quickly. The fourth semester is here and there’s a (dare I say) light at the end of the tunnel?

I had my first real work experience with CJOB in December and I had an experience I will remember for a while. I was very grateful that I was able to get right into the reporting and learn everything for myself. I know some fellow students spent some time job shadowing other reporters. While that’s a great experience to see how things work in the industry, I was able to try it out for myself and learn.

I spent one day job shadowing and after that I was on my own. Personally I feel like that’s the best way to learn. I’m sure I made many mistakes along the way, but I felt so satisfied when things would work out. I felt accomplished after cold-calling different daycares in Montreal to set up an interview (who knew most of them would only be able to speak French?). And it was satisfying being able to drive home and listen to myself on the 5:30 news.

I learned a lot about what to expect of myself. While I felt like I contributed to the newsroom, I believe I could have pushed myself further. I somewhat chalk it up to being a new experience and something that took me a little while to get used to. I wish I had another week or two in order to contribute even more.

I really enjoyed working in the radio industry. I knew I would. Radio is something I’m seriously considering now. I like how it’s up-to-the-minute. It’s what is happening right now. It is frequent. It is fast. When gathering news or interviews, we do not wait. It’s now or else it’s never. I really like that kind of pressure.

After some stints in print and radio, all I have to do is try TV this semester. Whether that’s through my next work placement or with RRC TV News, I know I’ll have a difficult decision come the end of the school year to decide which avenue I’d like to take.

Leave a Reply

