Work Placement: CJOB

This is it.

The final week of semester 1. My oh my, how quickly the time has gone by.

I will be starting a work placement at CJOB as of next week. I’m quite excited, but also nervous because I don’t know what to expect.

I’ve really enjoyed radio class, specifically this semester. I’ve learned so much about radio journalism this year and now I can’t wait to take all of these skills and use them to write, produce and hopefully maybe even voice some of them.

It sounds like I will be doing a wide array of tasks during my three weeks there, and I’m looking forward to helping out in any capacity I can.

It’s nerve wracking too. I know that what I’ve written in the past has reached many people, but I feel like whatever I do for CJOB will be noticed. People are listening to the station all hours of the day. Will I screw up? Likely. But I’ll learn from all of that and will only improve.

Thankfully, I’ve had some insight on what CJOB is kind of about because two of my classmates did some work there over semester one. I feel like that’s slightly prepared me for what to expect, but definitely not to the fullest extent.

I’m looking forward to getting to work there, telling/writing some great stories and having the opportunity to meet a lot of great people within the industry.

After that, only one more semester to go.

Leave a Reply

