Curling journalism

This past weekend I had an amazing time at the Petersfield Curling Club. I was there as part of my IPP which involved updating the Manitoba Junior Curling Tour (MJCT) website after each and every draw, taking pictures, interviewing players and writing a news story.

I had a great time there even though I spent about 10 hours per day there and had to drive back home in some pretty gnarly winter weather (down some back roads, nonetheless).

I always had this passion of becoming a great curler. While I still have that, I haven’t been out on the ice competitively in a long time. Post-secondary took over my life, but I was really excited to worth with the MJCT because it was going to get me back into the curling rink and allow me to watch the game I love.

When I’m asked what I want to do with my life, or what my ultimate goal is after graduation, I don’t hesitate to say that I want to be a curling broadcaster. I admire Vic Rauter from TSN. I’d love to spend my winter months traveling the country and broadcasting curling competitions to hundreds of thousands of homes throughout the country.

The sport is on the rise, and I feel like I’m on the rise with it. I’ve had the honour of covering some of the best and brightest curlers in our province, the future stars who will be winning Tournaments of Hearts and Briers.

While this weekend was long at some points, it was well worth it. The MJCT website received over 500 hits this weekend alone. I was amazed by those numbers. People complimented me on the website and the quick updates. The website is the best source of information and allows those who might not be at the curling club an opportunity to see the latest results. The compliments I received helped me understand why I’m doing this.

I want to bring the game of curling to the people, wherever they are. Thanks to social media and the Internet, it’s now easier than ever. MJCT Twitter updates were flying hot off the press this weekend, and the website was being updated sometimes up to seven times a day.

I’m excited to continue on with the project next weekend when the Elmwood Curling Club plays host to the Elmwood MJCT.

Thank you all who checked out the website this weekend, and thank you for your support and kind words. It has meant the world to me.

Leave a Reply

